BGC go Back to Back

The Brisbane Golf Club has secured its second consecutive Division 1 pennant after drawing 10.5-10.5 with Nudgee Golf Club in Round 5.

The draw gives BGC eight points from five matches and an unbeatable lead at the top of the table with one round left to play. Keperra Golf Club and Royal Queensland Golf Club are tied in second place on five points.

BGC entered the match knowing that a win would secure the Pennant but also with the knowledge that Nudgee would fight to the end. Nudgee has a proud history in Pennants and needed a win to avoid relegation back to Division 2.

Both BGC and Nudgee have wonderful Juniors but it was Nudgee who was able to secure a strong 3.5-1.5 win. Jordan Hampson secured the only win for the Juniors defeating his opponent 6&4 whilst Ben Stieler produced a critical half point coming from 2 down with 2 holes to play.

Once again our Opens and Masters produced dominant displays away from home to win 6-5 and 3-2 respectively.

Winners in the Opens were Stephen Cox (8&6), Lawry Flynn (6&5), Cameron Powell (4&3), Louis Dobbelaar (1up), Dylan Barraclough (4&3) and Sam Howse (7&6).

Our Opens have enjoyed great success in 2018 and a strong performance in Round 6 will see them win the individual pennant.

It was wonderful to see Phil Lynem win 5&3 in his debut match for the Masters whilst Rick Davenport and Gary Brodie both continued their undefeated seasons winning 3&2 and 7&6.

Our Masters secured their fifth straight individual pennant with the win and they have now not lost a match since 2016. A total of eight players have been used in the Masters this year which reflects well for continued success in the future.

In the end a draw was as good as a win after Keperra Golf Club defeated Royal Queensland Golf Club 14-7 in the other Division 1 match.

BGC’s away record in 2018 was outstanding securing two wins and a draw for five points out of a possible six points. BGC has a chance to finish the season undefeated when they play Keperra Golf Club in the final match of the year at home this Sunday.

The journey over the past four years winning Division 3, Division 2 and now back to back Division 1 pennants has been amazing and all those that have contributed on and off the golf course over the years are to be congratulated.

Securing the title early gives BGC an opportunity to enjoy the week. Members are invited to come out and provide their support for the last match of the year next Sunday then celebrate the season afterwards. Tee off will be from 7am.

Team selections will be finalised early this week and announced on Tuesday.


Dylan Barraclough 2,1,2

Kurt Carlson 2,2,1

Steven Cox 4,0,1

Tom Deane 2,0,2

Louis Dobbelaar 3,1,0

Wade Edwards 2,1,2

Eugene Estella 1,0,2

Lawry Flynn 5,0,0

Sam Howse 2,0,3

Tim Lukin 1,2,2

Cameron Powell 3,1,1

Ilaja Soldan 1,0,3


Gary Brodie 3,0,0

Rick Davenport 4,1,0

Phil Melksham 3,0,1

Warwick Oxenford 4,0,1

Stephen Deane 2,0,1

Scott Bretherton 0,1,2

Phil Lynem (1, 0, 0)

Ash Sturmer (0, 0, 1)


Kaito Chiu 0,2,2

Jordan Hampson 3,0,2

Bailey Ittensohn 1,2,1

Dylan Jones 0,0,1

Hayden Millen 0,1,0

Sam Slater 2,0,2

Ben Stieler 1,1,3

Matthew Van Eden (0, 0, 1)

(Win, AS, Lost)