Cox, Carlson in Club Championships Final

The finalists for this year’s Club Championships across all seven grades have been determined and we look forward to seeing fantastic golf this Sunday.

Stephen Cox will play Kurt Carlson in the A. H. Colledge Club Championship. The trophy named after our winningest Club Champion will again be hotly contested with both former Queensland State squad members among the best golfers at The Brisbane Golf Club.

Cox who is 20 years of age and plays off +0.5 was defeated 8 and 6 in last year’s final by his former Queensland teammate, Lawry Flynn and would have learnt from that experience. He defeated Dylan Barraclough 7 & 6 in the quarter-finals and his pennant teammate, Ilija Soldan 1up in the semi-finals.

Carlson, 32 is a former professional joining the PGA Tour of Australasia in 2007. He regained his amateur status 18 months ago and his current handicap is 0.6. Kurt defeated six-time Club Champion, Cameron Powell 3 & 2 in the quarter-finals and the number one qualifier for this year’s Club Championships, Ben Stieler 2 &1 in the semi-finals.

Cox and Carlson were critical to our pennants success in 2017 and are again expected to feature in the top order of our Open’s team this year.

This is a difficult match to predict and all 36 holes may well be required to determine our 2018 Club Champion. Members will no doubt enjoy watching the very different approach both players take when playing our Championship Course. This match will tee off the tenth tee at 7am.

The A Grade Plate Championship will feature former Australia cricketer, Ryan Harris and defending Champion, Joel Negline. Joel will be looking to win his third Championship plate whilst this is the first golfing final for Ryan. This match will tee off from the tenth tee at 8.40am.

Our finalists in our Senior Championships, Rob Tathem and Brett Kinninmont, were required to defeat former Champions, Peter White and Peter Ash to make the final. This will be a great match with both players in great form. Rob won the Summer Cup earlier this year and Brett has performed well recently in a number of senior events around the country. Neither Rob or Brett have won this event previously. This match will tee off from the tenth tee at 8.50am.

The B & C Grade Club Championships will tee off at 9am and 9.10am respectively. Mark Haysom will play Joseph Crunkhorn in the B Grade Final whilst long time members Peter Murray will take on Alan Beddoe in the C Grade final.

The Division 1 and Division 2 finals of the Joan Fletcher Trophy will be played on Sunday from 9.20am and 9.30am respectively. Angela Fong will play Jody Pezet in Division 1 whilst Joanne Hutton will play Vicki Mounts in Division 2.

The final of the Byneset Trophy, which is our Club Championship for six-day Members, will be played between Simon Davis and Shannon Porter. This match will tee off from the tenth tee at 9.40am.

Peter Peters will play former BGC President, John Kelly in the final of the Veteran’s Handicap Match Play. This match will tee off from the tenth tee at 9.50am.

It would be wonderful to see as many Members as possible supporting our finalists on Sunday.

For those who can’t attend live score updates will again be provided on Facebook.

Click here to see the draws from each grade.